Power Forward

ORU Puts 51 on Academic All-League Team

Courtesy: Summit League Media Relations
          Release: 06/15/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations
ELMHURST, Ill. − With the spring semester of the 2011-12 academic year in the books, The Summit League has announced its Academic All-League Team for the winter and spring seasons. A total of 1,081 student-athletes from baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf, softball, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s tennis, and men’s and women’s track & field have been honored for their academic excellence. Of the 1,081 selections, 482 were recognized as Distinguished Scholars and 263 earned “straight-A’s”.
Oakland led the way with a league-best 154 selections to the Academic All-Summit League squad, edging out South Dakota State which had 152 recipients. South Dakota came in third with 139 honorees, ahead of North Dakota State’s 111 student-athletes. Western Illinois landed 106 members to the honor roll followed closely by Southern Utah with 101 selections. UMKC (89 honorees), IUPUI (85 honorees), IPFW (74 honorees) and Oral Roberts (51 honorees) rounded out the list. Eastern Illinois placed 19 student-athletes as an associate swimming & diving member.
Women’s track & field led the way in the sport breakdown with 204 representatives, followed by men’s track & field with 164. Softball had 108 honorees with women’s swimming & diving closely behind with 103 selections.
In order to be selected to the Academic All-Summit League Team, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better grade-point average (GPA) in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility. In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 GPA.
About The Summit League
Celebrating its 30th anniversary season at the Division I Ievel in 2011-12, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 155,000 at 11 universities, five of which are located in the top 76 U.S. media markets (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Tulsa and Omaha). Member institutions include: IPFW (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), UMKC (University of Missouri-Kansas City), the University of Nebraska Omaha (which begins league competition in 2012-13), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University, Southern Utah University and Western Illinois University. Eastern Illinois University is an associate member in swimming and diving and men’s soccer.

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Tue, Apr 22 at 06:20 PM
Audio >
Tue, Apr 22 at 06:20 PM
BASE: ORU vs Oklahoma State
Video >