Power Forward

Carter Named Under Armour A.D. of the Year

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 06/25/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

DALLAS, Texas-Oral Roberts Athletic Director Mike Carter was named the 2011-12 A.D. of the Year for Central Division I it was announced Monday by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

"This is an honor, but it is really a tribute to the commitment of the University to athletics and the wonderful job of our coaches and student-athletes," said Carter. "Without the success that they have had, I certainly would not have received this award."

ORU President Dr. Mark Rutland nominated Carter for the honor, saying "Mike has worked tirelessly to ensure that every sport has the facilities and support needed to excel on the playing field and in the classroom. Under his leadership, the department has seen significant improvements to all facilities including construction of the Case Soccer Complex and Practice Field, construction of the Chapman Indoor Practice Facility and Bukhart Strength and Conditioning Center and creation of the Eli Academic Learning Center, just to name a few."

The Golden Eagles enjoyed success on and off the field of competition during 2011-12, posting a 3.15 cumulative GPA, the highest in the last 15 years and the fifth year in a row in which the overall GPA has risen. ORU also claimed three regular season Summit League championships (men's basketball, baseball and women's tennis) and three Summit League Tournament championships (women's golf, women's tennis and baseball).

The tournament championships by women's golf and baseball continued two of the nation's most impressive streaks, as the Golden Eagles have now won 15 straight tournament titles in both sports.

In addition to the six Summit League championships, the Golden Eagles also had a National Champion in Jack Whitt, who won the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Pole Vault title.

Now ORU athletes are taking their talents internationally as women's basketball player Dominique Allen (Great Britain) and former track star Prince Mumba (Zambia) have already made the 2012 Olympic teams for their respective countries. Whitt is also one of the favorites to make Team USA for the 2012 Olympic games in London.

In addition to his work at ORU, Carter was the chair of the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee in 2002 and 2003, and was reappointed to the committee this past season. He has also served on the executive committee for the NCAA Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association.

The full list of the 29 A.D. of the Year winners is below.





Mike O'Brien

University of Toledo


Richard Giannini

University of Southern Mississippi


Jim Phillips

Northwestern University


Ian McCaw

Baylor University


Jim Fiore

Stony Brook University


Jeff Barber

Liberty University


Gene Taylor

North Dakota State University


Peter Fields

Montana State University

Division I/NE

Mike Bobinski

Xavier University

Division I/SE

Norwood Teague

Virginia Commonwealth University

Division I/ C

Mike Carter

Oral Roberts University

Division I/W

Peg Bradley-Doppes

University of Denver

Division II/NE

Bill Goldring

Ashland University

Division II/SE

Fran Reidy

Saint Leo University

Division II/C

Tom Rubbelke

Concordia University St. Paul

Division II/W

Jared Mosley

Abilene Christian University

Division III/NE

James Nelson

Suffolk University

Division III/SE

William Klika, Jr.

Fairleigh Dickinson University, College at Florham

Division III/C

Terry Rupert

Wilmington College

Division III/W

Jeff Martinez

University of Redlands


Gary Broadhurst

Mohawk Valley Community College


Ken Krsolovic

Harford Community College


Brenda Hampton

Iowa Western Community College


Tim Drain

Tyler Junior College


George Sliman

Carlow University


Steven Ridder

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University


Ira Zeff

Nebraska Wesleyan University


Bruce Parker

Carroll College


Gord Grace

University of Windsor

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at www.nacda.com.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA): is a leading developer, marketer, and distributor of branded performance apparel, footwear, and accessories. The brand's moisture-wicking synthetic fabrications are engineered in many different designs and styles for wear in nearly every climate to provide a performance alternative to traditional natural fiber products. The Company's products are sold worldwide and worn by athletes at all levels, from youth to professional, on playing fields around the globe. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland, with European headquarters in Amsterdam's Olympic Stadium, and additional offices in Denver, Hong Kong, Toronto, and Guangzhou, China. For further information, please visit the Company's Web site at www.underarmour.com.

About NACDA:  NACDA, now in its 47th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 12 professional associations, including six for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics directors and two foundations.  For more information on NACDA, visit www.nacda.com.


Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Sat, Apr 19 at 01:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 19 at 01:50 PM
BASE: ORU vs Houston Baptist
Video >