Power Forward

Women's Golf Set for West Regional

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 05/03/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations
TULSA—Oral Roberts women’s golf team is ready to begin play in the NCAA West Regional, which opens Thursday at Washington National Golf Club in Auburn, Wash. Tournament play runs through Saturday.

The Golden Eagles are making their 11th straight regional appearance after capturing their 14th consecutive Summit League title on April 19. ORU’s championship streak is the longest in women’s golf.

Head coach Lance Watson's Golden Eagles are led by junior Crystal Reeves (Broken Arrow, Okla.), a 2011 first-team All-Summit League selection. Reeves, who owns a 75.6 stroke average, has enjoyed five consecutive top ten finishes, including fifth at the Summit League Championships last week.

Joining Reeves in ORU’s Regional lineup are junior Kylie Bollenbach, sophomores Tiffany Robbins and Eve Santillan, and freshman Alheli Moreno.

A total of 24 teams will compete at the West Regional with the top eight squads advancing to the NCAA Championships from May 18-21 at the Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas. The top eight teams at each of three regionals and the top two unattached individuals at each regional will move onto the NCAA Championship.

Sixteen of the nation's Top 50-ranked teams will be playing at Washington National. The following schools (with Golfstat.com rankings in parentheses) were assigned and seeded in the West Regional:

1. USC (1)
2. Virginia (6)
3. Arizona (7)
4. Georgia (12)
5. Tennessee (13)
6. Pepperdine (19)
7. Iowa State (15)
8. UC Davis (23)
9. Texas A&M (27)
10. Oklahoma (28)
11. Oregon (33)
12. South Carolina (36)
13. Washington (38)
14. Tulsa (42)
15. Denver (47)
16. San Diego State (49)
17. Brigham Young (51)
18. New Mexico (52)
19. Texas-San Antonio (57)
20. Portland State (60)
21. New Mexico State (64)
22. San Jose State (71)
23. Oral Roberts (88)
24. UTEP (97)

1. Kayla Mortellaro, Idaho
2. Teo Poplawski, Idaho
3. Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
4. Brianna Espinoza, Colorado State
5. Jessica Hollandsworth, Maryland
6. Chelsey Cothran, Baylor

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Fri, Apr 25 at 05:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 26 at 04:50 PM
Audio >