Power Forward

Women's Golf Has Four Named to All-Conference Teams

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 04/23/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

ELMHURST, Ill. - The Summit League announced its 2011-12 all-league golf teams at the awards banquet Sunday, prior to the start of The Summit League Golf Championships in Primm, Nev. The awards were based on Golfstat rankings heading into the championship tournaments.
On the women's all-league teams, Oral Roberts led the way with two golfers on the first team in Alheli Moreno and Crystal Reeves. Last season's Newcomer of the Championship, Moreno has a 77.19 stroke average on the year and a low-round of 70 at the Dale McNamara Invitational. Reeves, a four-time first team selection, has the second-lowest league average at 75.96, a low-round of 69 at the Marilynn Smith/Sunflower Invitational and won the individual title at the Bucknell Invitational.
North Dakota State's Amy Anderson collects her third-straight first team honor and has won the league's last two Golfer of the Year awards. She leads the league with a 73.05 average and has finished in the top-four in all nine tournaments this season, including four first-place finishes. Anderson carded a league-leading low-round of 66 at the Jackrabbit Invitational. UMKC's Taylor Fisher is fourth in the league with a 76.91 stroke average and finished sixth at the Jackrabbit Invitational. Southern Utah's Monica Jung has a 76.12 average, third-lowest in the league, with two individual titles (Wildcat Invitational, Jackrabbit Invitational).
The women's second team consists of IUPUI's Kristi O'Brien (77.00) and Jordan Woods (77.26), Oral Roberts' Kylie Bollenbach (78.73) and Eve Santillan (78.59) and UMKC's Susan Kirschenman (78.32).
The 2012 Summit League Golf Championships take place Monday and Tuesday at the Primm Valley Golf Club in Primm, Nev. Live stats will be provided through Golfstat.com. Also, follow along on Twitter: @thesummitleague.
Women's First Team
Amy Anderson, North Dakota State, Jr.
Taylor Fisher, UMKC, Jr.
Monica Jung, Southern Utah, Fr.
Alheli Moreno, Oral Roberts, So.
Crystal Reeves, Oral Roberts, Sr.
Women's Second Team
Kylie Bollenbach, Oral Roberts, Sr.
Susan Kirschenman, UMKC, Fr.
Kristi O'Brien, IUPUI, Sr.
Eve Santillan, Oral Roberts, Sr.
Jordan Woods, IUPUI, Jr.

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Sat, Apr 19 at 01:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 19 at 01:50 PM
BASE: ORU vs Houston Baptist
Video >