Power Forward

Golden Eagles Ready to Defend Summit League Titles

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 04/15/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

ELMHURST, Ill. - The Oral Roberts men's and women's golf teams will both look to repeat as league champions this week. The men's squad is looking for its third straight and eighth all-time, while the women are going for a 14th consecutive Summit League titles. The 54-hole tournaments take place at the Primm Valley Golf Club in Primm, Nev., April 18-19, with 8 a.m. tee-offs scheduled for both days. The men's tournament will take place on the Desert Course, while the women will tee-off from the Lakes Course.

Representing the men's first team is Oakland's Michael Coriasso and Jakob Ziegler, Centenary's Gregory Berthelot, IUPUI's Ben Engle and Southern Utah's Jeff Evans. Individuals placing on the men's second team are IUPUI's Michael Davan and Michael Powell, UMKC's Korbin Kuehn and Viktor Mikaelsson and Oakland's Phil Giesker.

The golf all-league teams were also announced for both the men and women. Selected to the women's first team are ORU's Amber Hensley and Crystal Reeves, North Dakota State's Amy Anderson, UMKC's Taylor Fisher and Southern Utah's Sadie Palmer. The second team consists of Oral Roberts' Alheli Moreno and Eve Santillan, Oakland's Liz Ecker, Western Illinois' Tara Peterman and UMKC's Kati Scholten.

On the men's side, Ziegler leads the league with a 72.25 stroke average heading into the tournament, narrowly edging out Evans (72.62) for the top spot in the league. Coriasso (73.33), Engle (73.64) and Berthelot (74.05) round out the top five.

For the second straight season the women are led by Anderson who has an average of 73.14 heading into the championships. Reeves is second with a 75.5 stroke average, followed by Fisher (76.7), Palmer (76.95) and Hensley (77.19).

Results will be posted following the conclusion of play each day on The Summit League Web site and live scoring will be available through Golfstat.com.

First Team
Gregory Berthelot, Centenary
Michael Coriasso, Oakland
Ben Engle, IUPUI
Jeff Evans, Southern Utah
Jakob Ziegler, Oakland

Second Team
Michael Davan, IUPUI
Phil Giesker, Oakland
Korbin Kuehn, UMKC
Viktor Mikaelsson, UMKC
Michael Powell, IUPUI

First Team
Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
Taylor Fisher, UMKC
Amber Hensley, Oral Roberts
Sadie Palmer, Southern Utah
Crystal Reeves, Oral Roberts

Second Team
Liz Ecker, Oakland
Alheli Moreno, Oral Roberts
Tara Peterman, Western Illinois
Eve Santillan, Oral Roberts
Kati Scholten, UMKC

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
BASE Postgame vs. SHSU, 4-4-14
Thu, Apr 17 at 06:20 PM
BASE: ORU vs Houston Baptist
Video >
Thu, Apr 17 at 06:20 PM
Audio >