Power Forward

ORU Lands Five on Tennis All-League Teams

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 04/21/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – Oral Roberts men’s and women’s tennis landed five players on the Summit All-League team, as the conference announced its individual and team award winners on Thursday.

The Golden Eagle men placed three players on the all-league team, beginning with Dario Beslic, who went 5-0 at No. 4 singles, followed by Igor Sobolta, 6-0 at No. 2, and Mikhail Trukshanin, 4-2 at No. 1.

On the women's side of the action, Iryna Khatsko (4-0 at No. 1) and Lina Semenova (4-2 at No. 1 and 2) were added to the list of 2011 award winners.

IPFW senior Amy Recht won her fourth consecutive Summit League Women’s Tennis Player of the Year award and made history as the first athlete in league history to win the top sport award in all four seasons of eligibility. UMKC sophomore Nino Hasandedic was named the Men’s Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year and as the league announced its individual awards and all-league teams on Thursday.

Southern Utah’s Alex Ivanova earned the Women’s Newcomer of the Year award while Coach of the Year honors went to Southern Utah women’s head coach Lenny Lee and UMKC men’s coach Kendell Hale.

Recht went 7-0 in league play at No. 1 singles and combined with Ingrid Ballus for a 6-0 league record at No. 1 doubles. During the season, Recht tied The Summit League record with 11 career Women’s Tennis Player of the Week awards.

Hasandedic compiled a 6-0 league record at No. 1 singles and teamed with Grant Fleming for a 4-0 league record at No. 1 doubles during his first season at UMKC. A transfer from the University of Central Florida, Hasadedic became the first men’s player to sweep both individual awards since 2008.

Ivanova recorded a combined 6-2 mark in league play, including a 4-2 ledger at the No. 1 singles position. The freshman also combined to compile a 6-1 record in doubles play, including a 4-1 mark at the No. 2 position.

Lee guided his Thunderbird team to a 7-1 league mark and set school-records with 16 victories including 13 consecutive wins after being picked third in the preseason poll. The award was Lee’s third in the past four years.

Hale garnered his first Coach of the Year award after leading the Kangaroos to a 6-0 league record and outscoring opponents 36-3 en route to a second consecutive regular season crown.

IPFW and Southern Utah tied for the highest number of women’s honorees with four each. Representing the regular season champion Mastodons were Recht, Ingrid Ballus, who was a perfect 6-0 at No. 2 singles, Alex Forsyth, who went 4-0 at No. 6, and Caterina Kiefer, who was 5-0 at No. 4. Joining Ivanova to represent the Thunderbirds were Danica Ingwaldson, who compiled an 8-0 record at No. 5 singles, Ksusha Nazarova, who went a combined 6-2 at No. 1 and 2, and Olia Tatarchenko, who was 7-1 at No. 3.

UMKC led the way with five men’s all-league selections. Joining Hasandedic to represent the Kangaroos were Grant Fleming, who went 5-1 at No. 2 singles, Gustavo Guerin, 6-0 at No. 5, Serge Ristivojevic, 5-1 at No. 3, and Cameron Schoenhofer, 5-0 at No. 6. 

Western Illinois garnered a pair of selections in Jeff Cote, with a 3-2 record at No. 1 singles, and Patrick Hammers, 5-1 at No. 3. Rounding out the team was IPFW’s Robert Cabrini (2-3 at No. 1), and IUPUI’s Ivan Mojsejev (4-2 at No. 1).

The 2011 Summit League Tennis Championships will be played April 22-23 on the IPFW campus in Fort Wayne, Ind.



Ingrid Ballus, IPFW
Laura Bouet, UMKC
Alex Forsyth, IPFW
Danica Ingwaldson, Southern Utah
Alex Ivanova, Southern Utah
Iryna Khatsko, Oral Roberts
Caterina Kiefer, IPFW
Ksusha Nazarova, Southern Utah
Amy Recht, IPFW
Lina Semenova, Oral Roberts
Olia Tatarchenko, Southern Utah
Vanessa Whyte, IUPUI

Player of the Year
Amy Recht, IPFW

Newcomer of the Year
Alex Ivanova, Southern Utah

Coach of the Year
Lenny Lee, Southern Utah


Dario Beslic, Oral Roberts
Roberto Cabrini, IPFW
Jeff Cote, Western Illinois
Grant Fleming, UMKC
Gustavo Guerin, UMKC
Patrick Hammers, Western Illinois
Nino Hasandedic, UMKC
Ivan Mojsejev, IUPUI
Serge Ristivojevic, UMKC
Cameron Schoenhofer, UMKC
Igor Sobolta, Oral Roberts
Mikhail Trukshanin, Oral Roberts

Player of the Year
Nino Hasandedic, UMKC

Newcomer of the Year
Nino Hasandedic, UMKC

Coach of the Year
Kendell Hale, UMKC

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Fri, Apr 25 at 05:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 26 at 04:50 PM
Audio >