Power Forward

Four Players Earn All-Summit Postseason Honors

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 11/18/2010
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

Tulsa—The Oral Roberts volleyball team had four players selected for All-Summit postseason awards this year, as Elizabeth McVicker and Jocelyn Swier earned second team honors, while Bruna Silva and Laura Taylor were voted to the all-freshman team.

A sophomore middle hitter from Owasso, Oklahoma, McVicker played in 26 matches for the Golden Eagles, averaging 2.12 kills. She also tallied a .315 hitting clip, good enough for fourth in the Summit League, and managed a team-best 73 total blocks.

Swier, a senior middle blocker from Ripon, California, logged 63 total blocks and ranked eighth in the conference with a .285 hitting percentage.

Earning a spot on the all-newcomer team, Silva (Fr, DS, Niteroi, Brazil) led ORU with 329 digs on a 3.50 digs per set average (10th all-time in the ORU single season record books), while Taylor (Fr, S, Broken Arrow, OK) ranked seventh in the conference with 542 assists.

South Dakota State redshirt sophomore Kelli Fiegen, was selected as The Summit League’s Volleyball Player of the Year. The middle hitter led the league in two statistical categories and ranked in the top five in another in league play. IPFW claimed two of the five awards as sophomore Megan Steenhuyseen was named Setter of the Year and head coach Kelley Hartley Hutton earned Coach of the Year, after leading her team to its first regular season title, a school-best league record of 14-4 and top seed in the tournament, the best in school history.

ORU finished the season in sixth place in the Summit standings with a 10-8 conference record.

Entire release available here.


Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
BASE Postgame vs. SHSU, 4-4-14
Sat, Apr 19 at 01:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 19 at 01:50 PM
BASE: ORU vs Houston Baptist
Video >