Power Forward

Silva Named Summit Defensive Player of the Year

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 11/17/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

ELMHURST, Ill. - Sophomore libero Bruna Silva was named 2011 Summit League Defensive Player of the Year, it was announced today. Additionally, junior middle blocker Elizabeth McVicker was named a 2nd Team All-Summit League selection for the second consecutive year.

North Dakota State’s Jennifer Lopez was named the League’s Player and Setter of the Year, and NDSU’s Kari Thompson was named Coach of the Year. IPFW outside hitter Emily Spencer was named Summit League Freshman of the Year.

Silva, a native of Niteroi, Brazil, is the third ORU player to win the award. Former Golden Eagle Becky Dreher won the honor in 2002 and 2004, while Cris Alves was honored with the distinction in 2006.

The sophomore enters this weekend’s Summit League Championship with 641 digs for the season. That total is the third-highest single-season mark in ORU history, behind only Alves, who tallied 674 in 2006, and Dreher, who finished 2004 with 821 digs.

Silva ened the regular season third in the Summit League and tenth in the nation with 5.77 digs per set. In Summit League matches, the sophomore has upped that average to 6.53 digs per set, the top mark in the league.

Silva set a career high with 41 digs in a five-set victory over North Dakota State on Oct. 8. She was honored as Summit League Defensive Player of the Week on Sept. 26 and Oct. 10, and she enters the weekend with at least 20 digs in ORU’s last 14 matches.

McVicker, a repeat 2nd Team selection from 2010, leads ORU with 2.65 kills per set, 1.01 blocks per set, and a .254 hitting percentage. She ranks among the Summit’s top ten individuals in the latter two categories, and she has led ORU in kills in eight matches this season.

The Owasso native blasted a career-best 20 kills on Oct. 7 in a five-set win over South Dakota State, and she tallied 11 blocks in a Sept. 29 win over IPFW.

The junior was named Summit League Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 6 after leading the Golden Eagles to an undefeated record at the Owls Invitational in Kennesaw, Ga.

Together, Silva and McVicker led ORU to a 19-9 (12-6 Summit League) regular season record and the third seed in the upcoming Summit League Championship. ORU will face host school IPFW on Friday at 7:30 pm ET with a spot in the title match on the line.

First Team
Meghan Bray, Oakland, Jr., OH
Kelli Fiegen, South Dakota State, Jr., MH
Megan Lambertson, North Dakota State, Jr., MH
Jennifer Lopez, North Dakota State, Sr., S
Analaine Pelaez-Mailoto, Southern Utah, Jr., OH
Bruna Silva, Oral Roberts, So., L
Emily Spencer, IPFW, Fr., OH

Second Team
Shari Bernhardt, IUPUI, Sr., L
Brynn Joki, North Dakota State, Jr., OH
Chrissy Knuth, North Dakota State, Sr., RS
Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota, Fr., OH
Tessa McGill, IPFW, Jr., L
Elizabeth McVicker, Oral Roberts, Jr., MH
Megan Steenhuysen, IPFW, Jr., S

All-Freshmen Team
Lauren Cammack, North Dakota State, OH
Taylor Humm, Oakland, OH
Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota, OH
Ann Miller, Western Illinois, OH
Gabi Mirand, Southern Utah, S
Emily Spencer, IPFW, OH
Kendall Wienkes, IPFW, OH

Player of the Year

Jennifer Lopez, North Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Bruna Silva, Oral Roberts

Setter of the Year
Jennifer Lopez, North Dakota State

Freshman of the Year

Emily Spencer, IPFW

Coach of the Year
Kari Thompson, North Dakota State

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Fri, Apr 25 at 05:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 26 at 04:50 PM
Audio >