Power Forward
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

Gonzalez Earns Perfect Game All-American Honors

Courtesy: ORU Media Relations
          Release: 06/13/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

TULSA, Okla. – Alex Gonzalez has been named to the Perfect Game All-American second team, it was announced by the organization on Thursday. Gonzalez is joined by starting pitchers Ryne Stanek (Arkansas), Tyler Beede (Vanderbilt) and Kent Emmanuel (North Carolina) on the second team.

The 23rd overall pick in the MLB Draft, Gonzalez was the 2013 Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year after striking out 126 batters, the third most in ORU history.  In his 15 starts this season, Gonzalez went at least six innings in all 15, including two complete games in SLC play. He struck out seven or more batters in 13 of the 15 starts, including a career-high 13 against Northwestern State in his final regular season start. 

Gonzalez finished the year with a 1.83 ERA and a 9-5 record, taking just one loss in the Southland Conference.

Thursday’s honor is not the first All-American honor for Gonzalez, who was named a NCBWA Freshman all-American in 2011.


C Kyle Schwarber, Indiana

1B DJ Peterson, New Mexico

2B Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

SS Alex Bregman, LSU

3B Kris Bryant, San Diego

OF Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

OF Daniel Palka, Georgia Tech

OF Michael Conforto, Oregon State

DH Colin Moran, North Carolina

UT Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton

SP Mark Appel, Stanford

SP Jonathan Gray, Oklahoma

SP Aaron Nola, LSU

SP Carlos Rodon, N.C. State

RP Nick Burdi, Louisville


C Stuart Turner, Ole Miss

1B Mason, Katz, LSU

2B LJ Mazzilli, Connecticut

SS Trea Turner, N.C. State

3B Dustin DeMuth, Indiana

OF Jared King, Kansas State

OF Justin Parr, Illinois

OF Mike Papi, Virginia

DH Hunter Dozier, Stephen F. Austin

UT Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga

SP Ryne Stanek, Arkansas

SP Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt

SP Alex Gonzalez, Oral Roberts

SP Kent Emanuel, North Carolina

RP David Berg, UCLA


C Andrew Knapp, California

1B Jimmy Yezzo, Delaware

2B Jordan Hankins, Austin Peay

SS Adam Frazier, Mississippi State

3B Eric Jagielo, Notre Dame

OF Phillip Ervin, Samford

OF Aaron Judge, Fresno State

OF Danny Collins, Troy

DH Matt Oberste, Oklahoma

UT Zane Evans, Georgia Tech

SP Jeff Thompson, Louisville

SP Justin Garza, Cal State Fullerton

SP Matt Boyd, Oregon State

SP Chris Anderson, Jacksonville

RP Chris Cotton, LSU

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Fri, Apr 25 at 05:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 26 at 04:50 PM
Audio >