Power Forward

Ndasym Finishes as Summit Runner-up; Men, Women Each Place Eighth

Courtesy: Summit League Media Relations
          Release: 10/30/2010
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations

CARMEL, Ind. - ORU's Sheilah Ndasym finished as women's cross country runner-up while the men and women's team each placed eighth at the 2010 Summit League Cross Country Championship on Saturday.

The South Dakota State men's cross country team, No. 13 in the Midwest region,  captured its second straight Summit League title, while the Oakland women's team, No. 14 in the Great Lakes region, won its first ever championship title.

South Dakota State recorded 43 points to win the men's title, followed by Oakland with 58 points and North Dakota State with 77 points.  IUPUI (112), Southern Utah (113) and UMKC (142) earned the fourth through sixth respectively, while Western Illinois (191), Oral Roberts (225), IPFW (260) and Centenary (299) rounded out the field. 

For the women, Oakland led the pack with 45 points, followed by Southern Utah with 50 points and North Dakota State with 80 points.  UMKC (122), IUPUI (148) and South Dakota State (159) finished fourth through sixth. IPFW (163), Oral Roberts (204), Western Illinois (238), Centenary (311) rounded out the field.

Last year's Newcomer of the Championship, UMKC's Cosmas Ayabei captured the men's title with a time of 24:31.  Oakland's Zack Jones finished second with a personal season best time of 24:39.2, while South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak rounded out the top-three finishers with a time of 24:48.6.  Garnering a fourth-place finish was SDSU's Anthony Bongard (24:53.2), followed by OU's Brandon Griffin (24:59) in fifth, also with a personal season best.  IUPUI's Aaron Kremer (25:03.9) earned a sixth-finish and Southern Utah's Dallas Eborn (25:11.2) finished seventh. The top-seven finishers all earned All-League First Team accolades.

Ayabei was named the men's Championship MVP, while IUPUI's Dustin Neff garnered Newcomer of the Championship. South Dakota State's Rod DeHaven was tabbed the men's Coach of the Year.

Southern Utah's Jamie Smith won the women's title with a 6k league and personal season best time of 21:17.  Oral Roberts' Sheilah Ndasym earned a second place finish with a time of 21:19.2, while South Dakota State's Erin Hargens finished third with a time of 21:24.3, both posting personal season best times.  Oakland runners took fourth through sixth as Lia Jones recorded a time of 21:26.9, Sara Lieblein posted a 21:27.6 and Brittni Hutton finished with a time of 21:27.9.  SUU's Sylvia Bedford rounded out the top-seven finishers with a personal season best time of 21:28.1. The top-seven finishers all earned All-League First Team accolades.

Smith garnered the women's Championship MVP, while North Dakota State's Heidi Peterson earned Newcomer of the Championship.  Oakland's Paul Rice was named the women's Coach of the Year.

Men's All-League Team
First Team
Cosmas Ayabei, UMKC
Zack Jones, Oakland
Michael Krsnak, South Dakota State
Anthony Bongard, South Dakota State
Brandon Griffin, Oakland
Aaron Kremer, IUPUI
Dallas Eborn, Southern Utah

Second Team
Tyler Leverington, North Dakota State
Jared Ailts, South Dakota State
Pat Cassady, Oakland
Travis Fitzke, North Dakota State
Greg Vollmer, South Dakota State
J.D. Smith, IUPUI
Kevin Sandall, Southern Utah

Championship MVP
Cosmas Ayabei, UMKC

Newcomer of the Championship
Dustin Neff, IUPUI

Coach of the Year
Rod DeHaven, South Dakota State

Women's All-League Team
First Team
Jamie Smith, Southern Utah
Sheilah Ndasym, Oral Roberts
Erin Hargens, South Dakota State
Lia Jones, Oakland
Sara Lieblein, Oakland
Brittni Hutton, Oakland
Sylvia Bedford, Southern Utah

Second Team
Kelsey Carmean, Oakland
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State
Jylian Jaloma, UMKC
Kirsten Bradford, Southern Utah
Aubrey Frederking, UMKC
Danielle West, Southern Utah
Ana Paez, IUPUI

Championship MVP
Jamie Smith, Southern Utah

Newcomer of the Year
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Paul Rice, Oakland

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
BASE Postgame vs. SHSU, 4-4-14
Thu, Apr 17 at 06:20 PM
Audio >
Fri, Apr 18 at 06:20 PM
BASE: ORU vs Houston Baptist
Video >