Power Forward

Women's Soccer Picked Sixth in Preseason Summit League Poll

Courtesy: Summit League Media Relations
          Release: 08/13/2010
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Photo by: ORU Media Relations
Allison Hall and the Golden Eagles host Oklahoma State, 7 p.m., Saturday.
ELMHURST, Ill. − After claiming the 2009 League Championship title, IUPUI has been selected as the preseason favorite to win The Summit League Women’s Soccer Championship in a vote among the league’s 10 head coaches. The Jaguars received five first-place votes and totaled of 75 points.

IUPUI returns reigning Offensive Player of the Year Alicia Brock for her junior season, along with second team all-league performer Megan Hock. The two combined for 20 of the teams’ 41 goals on the year (Hock - 12; Brock - 8) and each ranked in the top 10 in nearly every offensive category in The Summit League. Coach of the Year Chris Johnson is back on the sidelines after leading the Jags to their second-straight regular season title.

The Jackrabbits welcome back first team all-league selection Kaitlin Justice, along with second team honorees Stephanie Berube and Kayla Braffet. Braffet led SDSU with 20 points (6 goals, 8 assists) last season, while Justice had a team-leading seven goals.

Two first team all-league selections headline NDSU’s top returnees. Abbey Stratton recorded a team-high 16 points (6 goals, 4 assists), while Brooklyn Dyce started all 20 matches, collecting five goals and all-freshman team honors as well.

Oakland returns all-freshman team selection Alyssa Fulton and Sarah Lynch. Lynch tallied 10 points off five goals last season, while Fulton started 16 matches on the backline, helping to hold opponents to a 1.32 GAA.

The Fighting Leathernecks are led by first team all-league defender Jenny Green and second team honoree Laura Atkinson. Green scored three goals in 18 matches from the backline, while Atkinson had a 1.18 GAA and led the league with a .868 save percentage in league matches. Lauren Parks returns for ORU after collecting all-freshman team honors as a defender last season. Goalie Amanda Wheeler is back for her senior season after recording a 0.98 GAA in league matches one year ago.

IPFW returns Freshman of the Year Lisa Underwood and goalie Kristen McFadden. Underwood tallied eight of her 11 goals in league matches, while McFadden had a 1.99 GAA on the year. Southern Utah welcomes back second team All-Summit League selection Riley Bassett. Bassett collected a team-leading eight points (2 goals, 4 assists) last season.

UMKC begins its second season with women’s soccer led by Zaina Mayer and Alyssa D’Egidio. Mayer led the team with 11 points (5 goals, 1 assist), while D’Egidio tallied three goals. The Ladies are led into the season by a pair of defenders in Catie Depew and Holden Penney.

The top four teams in the regular season standings will compete for The Summit League Women’s Soccer Championship at Fishback Soccer Park in Brookings, S.D., Nov. 5 & 7. The tournament champion will earn the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Women’s College Cup.


2010 Summit League Women's Soccer Preseason Poll
1. IUPUI - 75 (5)
2. South Dakota State - 71 (2)
3. North Dakota State - 69 (3)
4. Oakland - 57
5. Western Illinois - 49
6. Oral Roberts - 41
7. IPFW - 34
8. Southern Utah - 27
9. UMKC - 16
10. Centenary - 11

Live & On-demand Eagle Sports
BASE Postgame vs. HBU, 4-18-14
BASE Postgame vs. Wichita State, 4-9-14
Fri, Apr 25 at 05:50 PM
Audio >
Sat, Apr 26 at 04:50 PM
Audio >