Power Forward
spacer   My Account for spacer

FRISCO, Texas - Jennifer Abernathy and Lauren Parks receive high honors from Southland Conference voters on Tuesday, as they were both listed as First Team All-Conference members, the league announced on Tuesday.

Both Abernathy and Parks were pre-season selections on the second team.

Joining the first teamers with Southland postseason honors was second team selection Megan Giles, and honorable mentions Kayla Keller, Whitney Booth, Allison Hall and Helen Erb.

Stephen F. Austin's Kylie Louw took home the player of the year award, while Ladyjack head coach Tony Amato was named the conference's top coach. The starter between the posts for Sam Houston State, Kylie Hambleton, was named freshman of the year and the conference's top goal scorer, Adriana Lucar of Central Arkansas, was named newcomer of the year.

Abernathy, a junior midfielder from Broken Arrow, Okla., was second on the Golden Eagle squad with 11 points, including three goals and five assists. Each of her three goals came in a pair of victories over conference foe Northwestern State, including two on Oct. 5 in the conference opener.

A native of Edmond, Okla., Parks anchored a defense that came up in the clutch on several occasions this season for the Golden Eagles, squeaking out four double-overtime victories. The senior defender was named defensive player of the week three times in 2012, while adding two goals and an assist on the offensive side of the ball.

In just her second season, Giles had a huge impact on the success of the Golden Eagles, helping them to the most wins since 2004 with 11 regular season victories. Her season was highlighted by overtime goals at Oklahoma and Nicholls State, just two of her four total game-winners. The Tulsa native also led the Golden Eagles during regular season play with seven assists.

Topping the honorable mention list for the Golden Eagles was Kayla Keller. A freshman of the year nominee, Keller netted a team high six goals and recorded three assists. She was joined by Booth, a senior forward from Anza, Calif., who put in a pair of goals this season, including the game-winner in overtime at McNeese State on Oct. 12.

Hall, a senior defender from Tulsa, picks up the honorable mention a day after she was awarded the conference's final defensive player of the week award in 2012, her second of the year. She played a key role on a stout defensive, while adding three goals, highlighted by the "golden goal" over the weekend at Central Arkansas.

Rounding out the awards was the Golden Eagle sophomore keeper, Erb. She earned eight shutouts in 18 games between the posts, tying a school record for shutouts in a season. She also continues to move up the ORU all-time lists for shutouts, saves and victories.

Erb was named the conference keeper of the week five times in a six week stretch during the season.

Name School Pos. Class Hometown/Previous School
Chelsea Raymond2 SFA F So. Irving, Texas/MacArthur
Zuri Prince SFA F So. Beaumont, Texas/Kelly
Maiya Cooper3 SLU F Sr. Hawthorne, Calif./Bishop Montgomery
Kylie Louw4 SFA MF Sr. Discovery, South Africa/Univ. of Johannesburg
Laura Sadler2 SFA MF Sr. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Jennifer Abernathy ORU MF Jr. Broken Arrow, Okla./Union
Lauren Parks ORU D Sr. Edmond, Okla./Home-schooled
Breanne Vernon SFA D Sr. Calgary, Alberta/Ernest Manning
Megan Dunnigan SFA D So. Round Rock, Texas/Vista Ridge
Lacey Lee2 SFA GK Jr. Bedford, Texas/Euless Trinity
Lacey Bockhaus3 SLU GK Sr. San Leandro, Calif./Arroyo
*Adriana Lucar UCA F So. Lima, Peru/Harding

Name School Pos. Class Hometown/Previous School
Sarah LaLanne MCN F So. Cypress, Texas/Cypress Creek
Megan Giles ORU F So. Tulsa, Okla./Broken Arrow
Jannet Hernandez LU F Fr. Houston, Texas/MacArthur
Kristin Bos LU MF So. Valencia, Calif./Valencia
Katie Ferrara SHSU MF Fr. Round Rock, Texas/McNeil
Kelsey Salcido SLU MF Jr. Manhattan Beach, Calif./Mira Costa
Leslie Shurtleff SFA D Sr. Southlake, Texas/Oklahoma
Amber Thornhill LU D Jr. Katy, Texas/Morton Ranch
Kayla Anderson SHSU D Sr. Katy, Texas/Cinco Ranch
* Kirby Zak SHSU MF Sr. Weatherford, Texas/Aledo
2Two-time first-team selection
3Three-time first-team selection
4Four-time first-team selection
*At-large selection

Honorable mention: Kimberly Albeno, F, LU; Kayla Keller, F, ORU; Spencer Valdespino, F, NICH; Whitney Booth, F, ORU; Ashlee Savona, F, NWLA; Tricia Mallory, F, SHSU; Kayla Vera, F, SLU; Lisa Topping, MF, LU; Becky Johnson, MF, SFA; Lauren Stillians, MF, SFA; Karly Dagys, MF, SLU; Allison Hall, D, ORU; Shanyce Shaw, D, SLU; Amanda Biega, D, SHSU; Cheyenne Maxwell, D, SLU, Alejandro Amador, D, LU; Megan Snelling, D, MCN; Kylie Hambleton, GK, SHSU; Bailey Fontenot, GK, LU; Helen Erb, GK, ORU.

Player of the Year - Kylie Louw, Stephen F. Austin
Freshman of the Year - Kylie Hambleton, Sam Houston State
Newcomer of the Year - Adriana Lucar, Central Arkansas
Coach of the Year - Tony Amato, Stephen F. Austin

Returning Customers
Donations, Tickets, ELIve and On-Demand Video and Audio users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.